Could have been better

I was all prepared for some great deals at Kroger and a few little deals at CVS, but it was a disappointing trip to both stores. CVS didn’t have anything that I wanted and the sales I thought were running weren’t. Kroger is supposed to be having a Mega Event sale, but my Kroger didn’t have the sales that I had read about. I had thought about going to another Kroger, but I’m going away this weekend and next and don’t really need the additional food.

That said, I still did pretty well at Kroger:

I had coupons for almost everything. An e-coupon for the buns didn’t get activated, but I’m not complaining because they still were 49 cents. The M&M Pretzel bags ended up being $1.19 per bag because they were on sale for $2.19 each and I had $1 off coupons. The Pepsi Max was already $1 a bottle, but the way that the cashier rung up my BOGO coupon meant I only paid 11 cents for them. The Total was a great deal. The price was marked down as a Mega Event item and then remarked as the same $1.98 price without the sale, and I had a $1 off coupon. The box features Suze Orman. I think she’d be proud!

My Target trip went well:

The Bic pens were free thanks to a coupon deal. The ravioli also was free, but that’s going directly into my food bank donation bag. After coupons, the quick-dry NYC nail polish was 72 cents, the Sobes were 25  cents each, the Easy Mac cups were 50 cents each, the boxes of mac-and-cheese were 41 cents each and the veggie burgers were $2. I had a high-value coupon for a different frozen pizza, but it didn’t seem like a good deal. I love California Pizza Kitchen, and this pizza was on sale for $4.50. I decided to splurge.

I spent $20.87 at Kroger and saved $16.59 with coupons and sales. At Target, I spent $10.70 and saved $9.96. I saved just about half of my bill at each store, which is my goal.

On the way home, I took advantage of the A&W coupon and bought myself onion rings to get a free Diet A&W float. Ahh, refreshing.

Leave a Reply

